ANNOUNCEMENT: Nominations for the 2018 awards will open in February.


About the awards

Launched in 2011, Canada's Safest Employers awards recognize companies from all across Canada with outstanding accomplishments in promoting the health and safety of their workers. The awards boasts 10 industry-specific categories, ranging from hospitality to mining and natural resources. Companies are judged on a wide range of occupational health and safety elements, including employee training, OHS management systems, incident investigation, emergency preparedness and innovative health and safety initiatives. The awards portfolio also includes a Wellness Award, Psychological Safety Award, Young Worker Safety Award and the top prize of them all, Canada's Best Health + Safety Culture Award. The nomination process runs from early February to June 1 annually.

Award categories:

•Building and Construction

•Health Care

•Mining and Natural Resources (includes fish and forestry)

•Transportation (land, sea and air)



•Oil and Gas

•Public Sector / Non-profit

•Retail and Services

•Utilities and Electrical


Special awards: 

•Psychological Safety

•Young Worker Safety  

•Canada’s Best Health + Safety Culture Award (The top award of them all!)



For more information, see FAQ tab. For the complete timeline of the awards process, see FAQ #1. 

For sponsorship opportunities, contact